Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

Disclaimer: I received this review copy for free from the publisher Usborne in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

32820770

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins
Lexi Angelo is a Convention Kid – she’s got a clipboard and a walkie talkie to prove it.

Aidan Green is a messy-haired, annoyingly arrogant author and he’s disrupting her perfect planning.

In a flurry of awkward encounters, lost schedules and late-night conversations, Lexi discovers that some things can’t be planned… Things like falling in love.

 

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

When I first heard of this book I was intrigued because it sounded like a fun read about books, authors and conventions. Thus, I really wanted to read Unconventional and I am glad I had the chance to do so because this novel was really entertaining and engaging!

Lexi was such a likeable protagonist; she was smart, but also flawed and I could totally identify with her because she seemed real and authentic. Aidan was also a great character and I loved finding out more about him and his book. The romance between Lexi and Aidan was right up my alley since it was so sweet and innocent. It wasn’t insta-love, but rather a slow romance and I really appreciated this fact. I really enjoyed Lexi’s and Aiden’s conversations and rooted for them until the very end.

I also loved the supporting characters in this book, especially Lexi’s best friend Sam. Their friendship felt so genuine and I just enjoyed reading about these two. What I also liked about Unconventional was the fact that it was not just a romance novel but a book about friendship, family and ultimately about growing up.

Maggie Harcourt gives us readers a glimpse inside the world of conventions and I have to say I really found this world very intriguing. I have never attended a convention before, but after reading this novel I really want to go to one.

All in all, I really loved Unconventional and devoured it in two days because it had all the things I love in it – a sweet romance, great, relatable protagonists and an awesome setting! I totally recommend this novel to everyone who loves Rainbow Rowell’s books and contemporaries in general!

Rating:

4 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Usborne for giving me the opportunity to read and review this great book!

Andie

Advertisements

My favorite books of 2016

Hello everyone! I know I haven’t blogged in a long time, but I also have a German book blog and sometimes it’s hard to find the time to write posts and reviews for both blogs.

Anyway, since 2016 is over, I thought I’d share my favorite reads of 2016 with you.

2016 wasn’t a good reading year for me. Normally, I read over 100 books in a year, but this year I wasn’t really in the mood for reading and that’s why I only read over 70 books.

And somehow, I read a lot of ‘okay’ books, but not too many awesome books.

Only five books made it on my ‘favorite books of 2016’ list. Here they are:

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4) by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5) by Sarah J. Maas

The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1) by Renée Ahdieh (I read the German edition)

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas

So three out of five of my favorite books of 2016 were written by Sarah J. Maas. Surprise, surprise. Not. It’s really no surprise since she’s one of my favorite authors and I really love her books!

So what are your favorite books of 2016? Let me know in the comments below.

Andie