Unplugged (The Wired, #1) by Donna Freitas

15751616

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The first book in a provocative new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas—Feed for a new generation.

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

I requested this book from the publisher because I read and enjoyed the author’s other novel The Survival Kit . Unplugged is very different though since it’s not a contemporary, but a dystopian / sci-fi novel.

Skylar was a likable character and I really sympathized with her because she felt alone in the App World since she missed her real family. I liked that she was brave enough to leave the App World even though it was very risky and dangerous. And Skylar continues to be brave throughout the book and to do the right thing, and that’s why I admired her.

Skylar’s love interest was okay, but I felt that there were still a lot of things about him that we don’t know and I just hope that we’ll get to know him better in the sequel.

The world building is a little complex because of these two different worlds, but I really found the idea of the App World intriguing and I wanted to find out more about its emergence.

The plot was suspenseful and there were definitely some interesting twists and turns, as well as an ending that leaves you wanting more, but I still felt that the story wasn’t really unique. Nor was it addicting. Or maybe it’s just me, maybe I just read too many dystopian / sci-fi novels and suffer from dystopia  / sci-fi fatique, who knows? All I know is that Unplugged couldn’t fascinate me 100%.

Still, it was entertaining and suspenseful, and it really made me curious about the sequel.

So if you’re a die – hard dystopian / sci-fi fan I totally recommend this book to you because it deals with a very interesting topic and makes you think about certain matters.

Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Harper Collins for sending me this book for review!

Andie

 

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Unplugged (The Wired, #1) by Donna Freitas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s