Telll Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

V23 new typeface tagline.inddEverything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

I discovered this book on Instagram and I immediately wanted to read it since I’m a sucker for cute covers and mysterious stories.

And I’m so glad that Tell Me Three Things was not only beautiful on the outside, but also on the inside. I totally loved this novel and I am so glad I was not disappointed.

Jessie has lost her mother two years ago and she still grieves a lot because she still misses her mom. And the fact that her dad remarries and Jessie has to move to California all of a sudden makes it even harder for Jessie to come to terms with her loss.

Therefore, I could totally feel for Jessie, could understand her frustration, her anger and sorrow. The author did a great job creating a main protagonist that seemed real, and not one-dimensional. Jessie’s grief felt real, her emotions seemed genuine and that’s why she felt very authentic to me. Moreover, Jessie is really likable because she is humble, smart and hard-working. You can’t help but root for her and SN.

SN is someone who emails Jessie and offers her advice regarding her new prep school and fellow students. At first, Jessie doesn’t know if she can trust SN, but then she begins to chat more and more with SN and she soon realizes that she’s falling for him. There’s only one problem – Jessie is afraid that SN might be someone she doesn’t really like in real life.

I loved this whole mystery revolving SN. I just adore such ideas because I like to guess and see if I’m right. And most of the time, I am. I had my theory regarding SN and what can I say – I was right. And I am so glad I was because like Jessie, I would have been so disappointed if SN was somebody else.

There are several guys who could be SN, but still, there’s no love triangle (or should I say love square?) in this novel. And I loved Tell Me Three Things so much more because of this fact. The romance in this book is so sweet and swoon-worthy, and I just loved everything about it. Altogether, this novel is so cute, so emotional and heart-wrenching that you’ll want to hug it multiple times. At least that’s what I did.

Overall, Tell Me Three Things was such an adorable YA novel featuring a strong heroine who grows as the story evolves. It’s an intelligent book filled with depth, but it’s also funny and sweet at the same time. A perfect combination, I’d say.

So now that you know how amazing this contemporary is, I’ll tell you three things:

  1. You should totally read this book.
  2. The ‘Dear reader’ note at the end of the novel is very emotional.
  3. The waffles on the cover have several significances in the book.

Rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars

Andie

One thought on “Telll Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Leave a Reply

