Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik

Disclaimer: I received this ARC for free from the publisher Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Claire LaZebnik’s latest twist on a beloved classic asks the age old question: Could the girl who knows everything be wrong about the guy?

As the stepdaughter of a TV star, Ellie Withers has it all: an amazing house in LA, a devoted friend who loved her before she even knew who Ellie’s stepfather was, and a burgeoning romance with handsome Aaron Marquand. But Ellie isn’t the kind of person who’s content with simply having it all—the people in her life have to be equally happy. And, of course, she knows exactly what they need.

When Ellie’s plans for her family, her friends, and even her love life don’t turn out the way she imagined, she begins to wonder if maybe she could stand to learn a thing or two after all. Most surprising, though, is that the perfect person to teach her is the last person she’d expect.

With her signature witty narration and swoon-worthy romance, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail, The Trouble with Flirting, and The Last Best Kiss) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story: Jane Austen’s Emma.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

Since I read Epic Fail a while ago and really enjoyed it I wanted to read Claire LaZebnik’s new book as well because it seemed like a cute read, just as Epic Fail was.

And I was right – Wrong About the Guy was also a very sweet and cute YA contemporary that I read really fast and enjoyed.

I liked the main protagonist Ellie because she was smart and snarky. Yes, she seemed a little spoiled, but I could understand why, given the circumstances. Still, she was very likable and therefore, it was easy to identify with her.

George was cute and seemed like a very nice guy and it took Ellie a while to realize it, but when she did and took action, it was all very sweet.

It was fun to read about Ellie’s lifestyle, about her parents and her best friend Heather. I really enjoyed the setting of this book and liked the plot of the novel. The similarities between Wrong About the Guy and Jane Austen’s Emma were very easy to spot and I really enjoyed Claire LaZebnik’s modern spin on Jane Austen’s popular novel.

All in all this novel was really fun and I really enjoyed it because the protagonists were likable and the story was really cute.

Rating:

3.5 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Harper Collins for sending me this great review copy!

Andreea

One thought on “Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik

  1. I’m glad you really did enjoy this one. I haven’t read anything by the author, but I think I might need to. I do love YA contemporaries that are fun to read and sweet. Plus, I like the sound of Ellie. I enjoy snarky characters.

    Lovely review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

