The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

This book has been on my wish list for such a long time and since it was really inexpensive as a Kindle e-book I decided to buy it. I don’t regret buying it since it was a really short and cute read, but to be honest I expected so much more. I know a lot of book bloggers love Kasie West and that’s why I was so curious to finally read one of her books because I hoped I would become a fan of her as well.

I don’t know why I didn’t love this book more. I liked the main characters as well as the writing style, and the plot was good too (although a little predictable). So I can’t really explain why I didn’t give it a higher rating. Maybe it was the whole setting of the book that I didn’t love – I just couldn’t bring myself to like the porcelain doll store. I also disliked Caymen’s mother because she kept so many secrets from her own daughter and in my opinion she didn’t have the right to do so.

I did like Caymen, as I mentioned before, because she was sarcastic and I totally loved her dry sense of humor. I also could relate to her because she didn’t know what to do with her life and was often insecure, which made her all the more likable.

Xander was a nice character as well, but I didn’t really fall for him because he just wasn’t my type I guess. He is a great match for Caymen though and they’re really cute together.

All in all The Distance Between Us was a fast and sweet contemporary romance that will appeal to many readers. Unfortunately, it couldn’t completely win me over, but I will give this author another chance. I own Pivot Point and I plan on reading it soon, in the hope that I will like it more than this novel.

Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

P.S. I am so sorry for neglecting this blog lately, but I just simply didn’t have the time to update it more often or to visit your blogs. We are in the process of renovating and we’re going to move soon, thus my life has been pretty stressful during the past weeks. My daughters and I have also been sick, which made the whole renovating thing even more stressful. I hope to blog more often in April once we’re done with moving. I hope you all understand!

Andreea

10 thoughts on “The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

  1. Sorry that your life has been so crazy lately, but hope soon you’ll be done with renovations and that everyone is healthy again.
    I agree that this book was a little fluffy, though I still enjoyed it overall. But I think I prefer Kasie West’s scifi duology to her contemporaries.
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

    1. Thanks for understanding, Jen! Yeah, it was indeed fluffy! I am looking forward to reading Pivot Point and hope I will like it more 🙂

      Like

  2. I really liked this book because I was looking for a cute romance at the time and this gave me exactly that, no more no less. I thought the main characters had good chemistry but the plot was nothing special. I have heard good things about On the Fence though which is her newest contemporary. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      I will read Pivon Point first and then if I like it I will read On the Fence as well. Also, I’ve heard that she has a new contemporary coming out soon. Will have to check that out as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for understanding, Alise!

      I will try out her other books, maybe I will like them more. I actually love contemporary too and this one was good, as I said. I just had higher expectations I guess and thought I would end up giving it at least 4 stars.

      Like

  3. Oh, don’t worry! Sometimes there’re just important things in life that need your full attention.
    Well, this book sounds nice but I am not sure whether to put it on my wishlist on Amazon or not……. I think I have to get my priorities straight and only add the ones with 4 stars or more. 😛 If not I’ll probably drown under all the books I want/need to read. 😀

    Neyschn

    Like

Leave a Reply

