Mind Games by Teri Terry

Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Luna is a no-hoper with a secret: in a world of illusion, she can see what is real. But can she see the truth before it is too late?

Luna has always been able to exist in virtual and real worlds at the same time, a secret she is warned to keep. She hides her ability by being a Refuser: excluded by choice from the virtual spheres others inhabit. But when she is singled out for testing, she can’t hide any longer.

The safest thing to do would be to fail, to go back to a dead-end life, no future. But Luna is starting to hope for something better, and hope is a dangerous thing…

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

Since I love the Slated trilogy so much, I was so excited to hear that Teri Terry has written a new book, a standalone. So of course I wanted to read it because it sounded mysterious and awesome.

Unfortunately, I didn’t love this book as much as I loved Slated, but Mind Games was still an interesting read.

I really liked Luna as a character because I could identify with her. She has lost her mother and had to live with a step-mother who wasn’t too fond of her and with an absent dad who rather prefered to spend most of his time in virtual worlds than with his family.

I also liked her grandmother and I wish we could have learned more about her. Luna’s love interest was also very intriguing but I found the romance between Luna and Gecko rather innocent and I just felt that something was missing. I don’t know, I think the author could have concentrated more on the romance because it was barely there. I wanted to see more of these two together and that’s why I was a little disappointed.

The world created by the author was however very fascinating, but also very complex and I often had troubles envisioning everything that happened in the virtual world. Still, I think that the whole idea of the book was very clever and also believable because technology could definitely be heading this way.

The ending was scary and I didn’t expect it. Some disturbing secrets have been unveiled and what happened to some protagonists was really sad.

All in all, Mind Games was an enjoyable read about a realistic and scary future and I think that this book will definitely appeal to sci-fi fans and those who enjoyed Teri Terry’s previous books.

Rating:

3 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Hachette Children’s Books for giving me the opportunity to review this book!

Andreea

5 thoughts on “Mind Games by Teri Terry

  1. I’ve so many great things about Teri Terry’s Slated series (looks like you were a fan of those too!) so I’m curious about this one. I do like a complex world but only when it’s explained well, and I like romance too so it’s too bad there wasn’t enough to satisfy you. Nice review!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed this one, even if you didn’t love it as much as you were hoping! I haven’t read anything by this author, but I might have to look into the Slated series. I do love when you can identify with character; it always makes the book more enjoyable!

    And it’s okay, I’ve had family over and life has been pretty busy for me as well! It happens: ) I hope you are well, too.

    Like

  3. Schade, dass es dir nicht so gut gefallen hat. Ich kenne die Enttäuschung. 🙂 Danke für die Rezension… irgendwie bin ich auch froh, dass das Buch keine 4 Sterne bekommen hat, somit landet es erst einmal nicht auf meine Wunschliste bei Amazon. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

