The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.

Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.

This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins.

Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth.

But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.

From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

I have never read the author’s The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series or any book by Ann Brashares for that matter, thus, I didn’t know what to expect, especially since The Here and Now got some mixed reviews. Still, I requested this book because I liked the sound of it and because I really enjoy reading time travel stories.

And luckily, The Here and Now was a great read for me. I finished it in two days because I really enjoyed this story. I liked the main protagonist Prenna from the very beginning and I could totally identify with her. The author managed to portray Prenna very well because I could definitely feel her sadness and her melancholy. An opressive atmosphere was created by revealing Prenna’s memories of her previous home to us readers. I really felt sorry for Prenna and her family because it must have been really hard to have to witness such horrible things.

The idea behind the book is great. I confess that I have not read the summary before requesting this book. I only knew it would revolve around time travel. So I didn’t know why Prenna and the others have immigrated to New York. When it was revealed that Prenna comes from a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic that killed so many people, I was really intrigued because I haven’t heard of this idea before. I only wish the synopsis wouldn’t already give this away because it’s much better to discover the reason for Prenna’s arrival while reading the book itself.

The romance between Prenna and Ethan was just to my liking because it was sweet, cute and not too overbearing. It wasn’t insta-love because Prenna and Ethan have known each other for a few years and they were friends first so when they finally became a couple it wasn’t too early or annoying like it’s usually the case with insta-loves. They were really cute together and they made a great couple. Ethan was a nice and great guy – he helped Prenna, he gave her space and was just there for her. Together they embark on a dangerous journey that leads to many unexpected discoveries. And I loved that part of the book because it was mysterious and I really wanted to find out more about the plague, about Prenna’s father and the future Prenna comes from.

The only thing I didn’t like about The Here and Now was the ending. I don’t know, but I feel like a sequel would be necessary in order to clarify and tie things up. But I don’t think there will be one because according to Goodreads this book is a stand-alone (someone please correct me if I’m wrong). I was not satisfied with its ending and I would have loved the book a lot more if it had ended differently.

Other than that The Here and Now was definitely a great read because it was romantic and mysterious, and the whole time travel idea of the novel was intriguing. I also enjoyed Ann Brashares’s writing very much because she managed to capture Prenna’s feelings pretty well and she made me care about the protagonists she created.

Rating:

4 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Hachette Children’s Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this great book.

Andreea

4 thoughts on “The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

  1. Great review!

    It’s hard to find time traveling books, for me, that I can get lost in! But I do enjoy them as well! I haven’t read anything by this author, and it does sound really good, I’ll have to give it a try! I also like the sound of the characters and the romance. 🙂

    Like

  2. I like time travel stories, too! After reading your introduction I was really interested and since you enjoyed it so much I think I will put this on my “to buy” – list. 😉 Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

