When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill

Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Ellie Cahill is poised to coin the term “sorbet sex” with her charming twist on the age-old ‘friends-with-benefits’ story.

Dating can be fun, but it can leave a nasty taste in your mouth. For Joss, ever since her longtime boyfriend cheated on her, she doesn’t want her last memory of a guy to be that jerk. Enter her college friend, Matt. They come up with a theory: after a bad break-up, a person needs to cleanse the palate with a little sorbet sex. Lovers for a night, but always back to being friends in the morning. The two can handle it because they have a contract: rules they wrote, rules they follow and rules they can sometimes bend. The arrangement works: everyone needs a little sorbet now and again … until it starts to be the only thing you want. And then Joss breaks the one rule they never wrote down: don’t fall in love.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

I requested this book because I saw someone on Instagram posting a picture of it and I really liked the cover. Besides, I was in the mood for a romance book and the story sounded cute.

Unfortunately, the story was not the way I imagined it to be. First of all, I just thought that it would be a New Adult novel, which was not the case. The story is told by Joss and she recalls the time she met Matt and how their ‘special’ friendship has evolved throughout the years. Joss is already working and out of school when she begins to tell the story, so I was a little disappointed because I thought that the book would just focus on her college years.

I also had a problem with the plot. Not very much happened in this novel. We just get to learn about Matt’s and Joss’s ex-partners and how they sleep with each other whenever a relationship doesn’t work out for them – which mean they’re having ‘sorbet sex’. I know, the summary already told me it would be this way, but I don’t know – I guess I expected When Joss Met Matt to be more romantic. And in my opinion it wasn’t.

Joss annoyed me because she was so afraid of telling Matt how she felt about him and she seemed a little different from ‘college Joss’. I liked the younger version of her a lot better. ‘Present Joss’ was too scared and too whiny for my taste and I just couldn’t identify with her at all.

Matt was okay I guess, but to be honest, I didn’t care for him either because I can’t say that he was a swoon worthy male protagonist. He was nice, but he wasn’t romantic or had anything special about him that could have made me love him as a character.

I did like some parts of the book, namely some stories concerning Joss’s and Matt’s ex-partners because some of them were really crazy and I had to laugh while reading about them. Sadly, that was about the only thing I liked about When Joss Met Matt.

I really wanted to like this novel, but I just couldn’t because I couldn’t identify with the characters, the plot was kind of boring and the romance was missing. Thus, When Joss Met Matt wasn’t my cup of tea.

Rating:

2 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine for giving me the opportunity to read and review this novel.

Andreea

3 thoughts on “When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill

  1. Dang, this one really does sound good, and I hate you didn’t get into it. But I can understand why. I don’t think I would like how the story was told either. And not being able to enjoy the characters, that is always a let down! The cover is very pretty though.

    Thanks for the honest review! 🙂

    Like

  2. The summary makes me think of plots of fanfiction haha.

    This sounds like it was pretty meh. The only way I’d probably think about picking this up is if it was New Adult and I was in the mood for romance. Though even then I could have the same problems with the characters and lack of plot :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

