Broken Skies (Broken Skies, #1) by Theresa Kay

Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Thirty years ago, civilization collapsed. Few survived.
Ten years ago, the aliens arrived…and stayed.
One year ago, I killed two men and went a little crazy.
Today, the aliens took my brother and I will do anything to get him back.

In seventeen-year-old Jax Mitchell’s world, humans are nearly extinct and alien settlers have arrived.

Until recently, the E’rikon have remained segregated in their city and ignored the few humans who have tried to engage them… but now they have taken Jax’s brother. To rescue him, she forms an uneasy alliance with a teenage E’rikon left stranded in the woods. She agrees to guide him to the city if he sneaks her past the human-proof barrier. Too bad it’s not that simple.

Jax, who cannot stand to be touched, finds that she’s drawn to the alien boy with bright green hair and jewel-like scales down his back. And he’s equally affected by her, the courageous redhead with haunted eyes. But she doesn’t know the alien’s true motives and he has no idea that she is much more than she seems.

In this world where alien and human are at odds, the connection forming between the two has consequences. What started off as a rescue mission sets a chain of events in motion which threatens not only the remaining humans and the growing alien society, but Earth itself.

Source: Goodreads

My thoughts:

I heard about this book on Instagram and immediately requested it from the author because as you might know, I just love YA sci-fi novels revolving around aliens.

And Broken Skies was such a great story – it was romantic, action-packed, suspenseful, and full of surprises and intrigues. Jax was a great heroine because she was so strong and was willing to do anything in order to get her brother back. She had a traumatic past and I could definitely feel for her and I admired Jax for her strength.

Lir was a great character as well but I couldn’t be sure if I could trust him or not because he was hard to figure out and that cliffhanger at the end made it even more difficult to see through him and his intentions. I guess only the sequel will be able to tell us more about him.

The romance between these two characters was sweet and not too dominant. They first had to earn each other’s trust and with Lir’s secrets and Jax’s tragic past, it wasn’t an easy thing to do. Thus, when they finally came closer, it was really heart-warming and cute.

The world the author has created was fascinating and I loved reading about it because it was frightening but thrilling at the same time. There are breeding camps, aliens who may or may not be evil, humans that don’t really behave the way they should and there are some mysteries revolving the alien race as well.

Thus, Broken Skies was a really great novel overall and I am really looking forward to reading the sequel because the plot was exciting, the romance sweet and the characters well-developed. Also, the secrets and intrigues concerning Jax and Lir were very entertaining.

Rating:

4 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank the author for sending me her book for review!

11 thoughts on “Broken Skies (Broken Skies, #1) by Theresa Kay

    1. Well, don’t know why that happened, LOL. Guess it deleted my comment except for “I” I’ll try again!

      I haven’t heard of this book but I do like how the main character has the ability to stay strong even with a challenging past. Plus a sweet and non-overbearing romance? Nice!

      Like

  1. I also love me some YA sci-fi, aliens especially, but it’s so hard to find a good alien-based book! But I’m glad you enjoyed this one so much! So I know I’ll have to look into reading it!

    Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

