Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) by Stephanie Perkins

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

Source: Goodreads

My review:

Isla and the Happily Ever After was one of my most anticipated books of 2014 so you can imagine how badly I wanted to read this book and how excited I was to finally start it. Unfortunately, I have heard that some readers were disappointed by this novel, and therefore, I was a little afraid of reading it, but I am so glad that it did not disappoint me at all.

I loved Isla because I could really identify with her. I was a little like her, when I was in high school because all the students around me seemed to have their whole futures planned out, they all figured out what they wanted to do with their lives, what they were going to study and where they wanted to move to. And I felt like I was the only one who didn’t know any of those things, just like Isla. And I felt insecure too, I was shy too and just like Isla, I was so afraid of taking risks. Therefore, I could totally relate to her and could understand why she behaved the way she did.

 

“…I don’t know. I don’t know what I want to do, or who I want to be, or where I want to live. It’s like everyone else has their entire future mapped out except for me.”

And I could of course see why she would fall for Josh. I mean, I would have fallen for him too. He was great because he was kind, he was observing and talented. But he also had to deal with some issues and I felt sorry for him because he didn’t have a great relationship with his parents.

I loved that Isla and Josh had to face some obstacles before they could get their happily ever after, because it made them seem more real and authentic. I also loved the fact that the book was set in New York, Paris and Barcelona. I have been to all of these beautiful cities (I’ve lived in New York for two years) and of course I enjoyed reading about these amazing places.

Another great thing about Isla and the Happily Ever After is that we get to ‘meet’ Anna, St. Clair, Lola and Cricket again. I only wished that their appearances would have lasted longer.

All in all, I was really satisfied with Isla and the Happily Ever After because it was a romantic, cute and exciting YA contemporary novel. Now that I have read this wonderful novel, I am a little sad that this trilogy is over because I will miss the main protagonists so much. I cannot even say which book is my favorite because all three were great. I definitely loved Isla because, as I mentioned above, she reminded me of my ‘high school me’, so maybe Isla is my favorite then.

My rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars

FF_Divider_Pink4

In case you haven’t read the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy, I strongly recommend these three books to you because they are so cute, sweet and romantic!

Andreea

3 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I’m so behind in this series! I enjoyed the first book by Perkins, and I know I have to get into the other ones! I’m glad you enjoyed this one so much as well!

    You being able to connect with the character also shows that the story probably felt real and relatable in many ways, I like that!

    Sounds like a great YA contemporary to get lost in!! 😀

    Great review!!

    Like

  2. I also feel like I could relate to Isla, my high school was very similar to that too, everyone had a plan. I’ve only read Lila out of the three books and liked it well enough, so I’ll definitely have to get to the others soon. It’s cool that the other characters make an appearance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

