The Swap by Megan Shull

Disclaimer: I received this ARC for free from the publisher Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

“YOU BE ME…AND I’LL BE YOU.”

ELLIE spent the summer before seventh grade getting dropped by her best friend since forever. JACK spent it training in “The Cage” with his tough-as-nails brothers and hard-to-please dad. By the time middle school starts, they’re both ready for a change. And just as Jack’s thinking girls have it so easy, Ellie’s wishing she could be anyone but herself.

Then, BAM! They swap lives—and bodies!

Now Jack’s fending off mean girls at sleepover parties while Ellie’s reigning as the Prince of Thatcher Middle School. As their crazy weekend races on—and their feelings for each other grow—Ellie and Jack begin to realize that maybe the best way to learn how to be yourself is to spend a little time being someone else.

Source: Goodreads

My review:

I requested The Swap from the publisher because it sounded like such a cute and funny story and because I like stories that feature characters who swap lives.

And the novel was indeed really adorable and such a fun read. I laughed several times while reading this book and I was very pleased with the writing, the plot and the ending.

Told from alternating perspectives, we learn a lot about Ellie and Jack, especially after they swap lives and bodies. Before the swap happens, Ellie thinks that being a boy must be a lot easier than being a girl and Jack thinks that being a girl must be easier than being a boy. But after this strange experience, they both understand the other gender a lot better and they also value their families and lives a lot more. Thus, this swap experience teaches Ellie and Jack so many things and they both change for the better and are so much more content than they were before.

Since this novel features younger characters (and is aimed for a middle school readership I guess), there isn’t really much romance in The Swap, which was totally fine and understandable.

All in all The Swap was a really sweet story about boys and girls, about the usual teenager problems, and about learning to value one’s family and speaking up for oneself.

Rating:

4 out of 5 stars

Note: I would like to thank Harper Collins for sending me this cute review copy!

Andreea

7 thoughts on “The Swap by Megan Shull

  1. I absolutely love a book that can make me laugh, and this one sounds super cute. Didn’t know it was geared towards a middle grade audience, I feel like there could be some hilarious moments with the gender swapping 😉

    Like

    1. The book was really sweet indeed!

      Thanks Magen. I’ve been having a rough couple of days because my daughters got sick and that’s why I didn’t have time for anything. BUT I finally managed to overcome the bad reading slump 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

