Favorite Fantasy Trilogy of 2014 (so far)

I know, I know, it’s only September, but I just couldn’t wait any longer to write this post.

If you read my blog, then you know that I don’t normally read too much fantasy because I just prefer YA paranormal, sci-fi and dystopians, but from time to time, I do read fantasy novels, even though I don’t always like them all.

And I certainly didn’t expect my favorite fantasy trilogy of 2014 to be – The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I initially didn’t even want to read Shadow and Bone (my review) because I thought I wouldn’t even like it, but I am so glad that I did, because I absolutely loved this book. And shortly after I’ve read the first book in this amazing trilogy, I also read the sequels: Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising, which were also fantastic.

10194157

The fantasy world that the author has imagined was so original and magical, and I just fell in love with it. The protagonists were awesome, well-crafted and well-developed. The Darkling was such a great villain and he’s probably one of my favorite book villains ever.

After I finished the last book in this trilogy, I was sad because I grew fond of everyone, but I was still satisfied with the ending.

If you haven’t read this trilogy yet, I truly recommend it to you, especially if you’re like me and don’t normally read too much fantasy. The author’s poetic writing style, the suspenseful plot and amazing protagonists will definitely win you over!

FF_Divider_Pink4

On Friday, the 19th of September, Leigh Bardugo answered many questions in a live chat on the German website Bittersweet. German fans could connect with the author (the live chat was in English though) and I was part of it too, which was a great experience, since I’ve never been part of a live chat before (and she answered one of my questions too, which was pretty awesome!).

You can read the Q&A’s here, if you’re interested (some of the questions and answers contain spoilers, so don’t read them if you haven’t read the trilogy yet).

FF_Divider_Pink4

So what’s your favorite fantasy trilogy / book / series of 2014 so far? I really plan on reading more fantasy novels, so please let me know in the comments below so I can check out your recommendations.

Andreea 

10 thoughts on “Favorite Fantasy Trilogy of 2014 (so far)

  1. Snap, I totally forgot about the Bittersweet Live Chat! I actually planned on submitting my own questions, but anyway, lucky you!
    One if my favorite fantasy reads in this year so far is definitely Defy by Sara Larson. It’s actually high fantasy, so I’m not sure if you read such books, but I personally could be raving about this book for days 😀

    Like

  2. I’m also loving this series, although I still have yet to read the last one. Glad to know it has a pretty good ending! Sounds like the live chat was a good time, I love the author, she’s always so nice. My favorite fantasy series right now would probably be the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas 🙂

    Like

    1. I hope you’ll love the last one, Alise! Yeah, the author was so nice!

      I tried to read the first book in the Throne of Glass series, but I couldn’t get into it. Maybe I will give it another chance soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

