Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah

Disclaimer: I received this ebook for free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. However, this fact does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

After her little sister mysteriously vanishes, seventeen-year-old Claire Graham has a choice to make: stay snug in her little corner of Manhattan with her dropout boyfriend, or go back to Ohio to face the hometown tragedy she’s been dying to leave behind.

But the memories of that night still haunt her in the city, and as hard as she tries to forget what her psychiatrist calls her “delusions,” Claire can’t seem to escape the wolf’s eyes or the blood-speckled snow. Delusion or reality, Claire knows she has to hold true to the most important promise she’s ever made: to keep Ella safe. She must return to her sleepy hometown in order to find Ella and keep her hallucinations at bay before they strike again. But time is quickly running out, and as Ella’s trail grows fainter, the wolves are becoming startlingly real.

Now Claire must deal with her attraction to Grant, the soft-spoken boy from her past that may hold the secret to solving her sister’s disappearance, while following the clues that Ella left for only her to find. Through a series of cryptic diary entries, Claire must unlock the keys to Ella’s past—and her own—in order to stop another tragedy in the making, while realizing that not all things that are lost are meant to be found.

Source: Goodreads

My review: 

I’ve discovered this book on Netgalley and since I loved the sound of it, I requested it. Due to the high rating on Goodreads I hoped it would be a great book. And I am so glad that I read Of Scars and Stardust because it was everything I had hoped for and it totally met my high expectations.

I was hooked from the very beginning and couldn’t put this novel down. I read Of Scars and Stardust in one day and after I have finished reading it, I thought about it for a very long time and I couldn’t go to sleep because I kept thinking about everything that happened in this book. I couldn’t get that ending out of my head, I analyzed things over and over again, trying to understand what really happened. I wish I could say more about the ending, but I don’t want to spoil the story for you.

I loved the beautiful writing style and the haunting descriptions because they gave the book such a creepy and oppressive atmosphere. Everything that happened was so suspenseful and I tried to figure things out, and even though I had an idea of what might be going on, I didn’t see certain things coming.

I don’t want to tell you too much about the plot because again, I don’t want to ruin this thrilling story for you, but I think that just like it was the case with We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (one of my favorite books), it’s best to know as little as possible before you start reading this novel. All you need to know is that Claire is an unreliable narrator (you know how much I love unreliable narrators) and that’s why you need to question her words and actions. While I was reading Of Scars and Stardust I constantly asked myself what was real and what wasn’t, since I couldn’t trust Claire and I loved this fact, because that way, I paid so much attention to everything since I wanted to finally know the truth.

I loved Claire’s relationship with her sister Ella, loved reading about Ohio and I liked the sweet romance between Claire and Grant because it wasn’t dominant at all, since the story concentrated on more important things.

Wolves play a huge role in Of Scars and Stardust and their vivid descriptions were eerie and scary. Andrea Hannah’s beautiful, almost poetic writing style underlined these images and I could definitely picture these dangerous creatures, following Claire’s every move.

Of Scars and Stardust was a wonderful YA thriller full of suspense, secrets and surprises. The twists and turns kept me entertained, the atmosphere gave me the creeps and the ending made me question the whole book. I totally recommend this book to everyone who loves thrillers and stories like We Were Liars. I will be definitely rereading this novel in the future!

Rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars (I couldn’t give the book 5 stars because the ending didn’t answer all of my questions)

Note: I would like to thank Netgalley and Flux for sending me this amazing e-Book for review!

Of Scars and Stardust comes out on the 8th of October 2014.

Andreea

 

 

7 thoughts on “Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah

    1. This one was definitely one of those books because you just have to read on if you want to know what’s really going on. I really hope you pick it up once it’s released!

      Like

  1. Oh wow! That book sounds really good and I will put it on my list of the books I want to read. Great review as always 🙂 I think books that leave you wondering are some of the best books you can find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

