If I Stay (If I Stay, #1) by Gayle Forman

The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel from Gayle Forman, author of Where She Went, Just One Day, and Just One Year.

Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Chloe Moretz!

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen -year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family.

Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

Source: Goodreads

My review:

Since Lisa at Turning Pages raved about If I Stay and Gayle Forman’s other books a couple of times, I decided to finally buy it. Also, I wanted to read it because as you might know, the movie will come out soon and therefore, I wanted to read the book before the movie will be released.

I don’t know why it took me so long to buy this book. I guess I was afraid to read it because I knew it would be an emotional read and that I would probably cry while reading it. It was the same with The Fault in Our Stars. I read it last year, but initially, I didn’t want to read it for the same reason mentioned above.

Anyway, I am so happy that I got to read If I Stay because I loved every page of it and needless to say, it’s now one of my favorite books! Also, the movie tie-in edition is so beautiful and in a way, I guess it was good that I’ve waited to read this book because I now own this gorgeous cover.

So now, let’s talk about this fantastic book. If I Stay was emotional and heart wrenching, but of course I knew that before I started the book, just as I knew I would cry while reading it. The book deals with death, but it’s also a story about love, family and the choices we have to make in life.

I absolutely loved the fact that family played such an important role in this novel and that Mia had such a great relationship with her parents and her family in general. Often, relationships between teenagers and parents are portrayed as difficult and negative in YA literature. And while there are many teenagers out there who have issues with their parents and feel misunderstood, I felt it was so refreshing that Mia’s relationship with her parents was so good, because I’m sure that there certainly are teenagers out there who have a similar relationship with their parents like Mia had.

What I also loved about If I Stay were the whole flashbacks Mia had because that way, we got to know so many characters and thus, I grew fond of each of them. I really loved every single protagonist because everyone was so likable and seemed so real to me.

I also liked the fact that Mia’s and Adam’s relationship wasn’t perfect and that they had their problems too. Before the accident, Mia applied to Juilliard and we don’t find out if she’s been accepted or not. Thus, we don’t really know what will happen to Mia’s and Adam’s relationship, but I guess we’ll find out in the sequel.

The whole concept of the book with Mia looking back at her life, reflecting about a future without her parents and brother, and thinking about whether it’s worthwhile to stay, or if it’s better to let go, was just very intriguing and fascinating. I could really put myself in her shoes, because I wouldn’t know how to choose either.

All in all I truly recommend this book to anyone because it was such a fantastic emotional novel that made me cry and think about life and my loved ones. If I Stay made me feel grateful for being alive and reminded me that we need to enjoy and savour every day, since it might be our last!

Rating:

5 out of 5 stars

FF_Divider_Pink4

I can’t wait to read the sequel Were She Went soon because I am so curious to find out what will happen to everyone!

What about you? Have you read this book too? Did you cry like I did?

Andreea

8 thoughts on “If I Stay (If I Stay, #1) by Gayle Forman

  1. I haven’t read it, didn’t know if I really wanted to, either, after having read Me Before You and The Fault in Our Stars earlier this summer (how much pain can you handle, right?) – but I have it ready on my Kindle anyway. After reading this, though…. Yes. I do want to read it! Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t read this one yet, but I plan to soon. Hopefully. I loved your review and it made me really wish I had time to start it now. I also like that family seems to be important in the book and I liked how the flashbacks sounded!

    Great review!

    Like

  3. I really have to read this book. 🙂 It’s already on my Amazon wish list. 😉 I hope I will be able to read it before the movie comes out. And I KNOW I will be crying so so much while reading the book (like I did while reading We Were Liars and The Fault In Our Stars).
    Thanks for the review!
    Neyschn

    Like

    1. Yeah, I wanted to read it too, before the movie comes out, but I don’t even know if I will be able to go to the movies then. Anyway, I am so glad I finally read it, movie or not, because it’s an amazing novel. I really hope you’ll love it just as much as I did, Neyschn!

      Like

  4. No problem, Lisa. I always planned on reading this book, but it was your posts that really made me want to read it and that’s why I bought it. So glad I did because it’s such a special book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

